Florida Book Awards

Social Media Buttons FaceBook page YouTube


Florida Book Awards Invites Submissions for its 2014 Competition

The Florida Book Awards has kicked off its ninth annual competition with a call for entries in nine categories.  The contest categories include General Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Children’s Literature, Florida Nonfiction, Poetry, Popular Fiction, Visual Arts, Spanish Language Book and the recently added category for General Nonfiction.

Established in 2006 and now the most comprehensive state book awards program in the nation, the contest recognizes and celebrates the year’s best books penned by full-time residents of the Sunshine State (with the exception of submissions to the Florida Nonfiction and Visual Arts categories, whose authors may live elsewhere.)

Entries can be submitted online by anyone (e.g. publisher, author or literary agent).  They must have both a copyright date between Jan. 1, 2014, and Dec. 31, 2014, and an International Standard Book Number (ISBN).  All entries must be received no later than 5 p.m. Monday, Dec. 1, 2014.
Three-person juries –– including members of co-sponsoring organizations, subject experts from the faculties of Florida colleges and universities, and previous Florida Book Award winners –– will choose up to three finalists in each of nine categories. In each category, the jury may award one Gold, Silver and Bronze medal.

The Florida Book Awards competition is coordinated through the Florida State University Libraries, with the support of partner organizations from across the state. 

The 2014 winners will be announced in early February 2015. All award winners will be recognized at a banquet and Gold Medal Award winners will be acknowledged in March 2015 at the Historic and Cultural Awards Ceremony sponsored by the state of Florida’s Division of Cultural Affairs.

Press Release 6/24/14: 2014 Florida Book Awards Opens with Call for Entries

Congratulations to our 2013 Award Winners!

The Florida Book Awards exists for one purpose--to honor the best work written by Florida authors and about Florida culture in the previous year. Begun in 2006, the Florida Book Awards is the most comprehensive state book awards program in the United States, and the only one with a Spanish Language category. The successes and growth the Florida Book Awards have enjoyed in the last six years are testimony to the quality of authorship and the rich culture of books that exists and continues to prosper in the Sunshine State.


The Florida Book Awards, coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries and co-sponsored by: