Florida Book Awards

Social Media Buttons FaceBook page YouTube


About The Florida Book Awards

The Florida Book Awards, established in 2006, is an annual awards program that recognizes, honors, and celebrates the literature by Florida authors and books about Florida published in the previous year. Authors must be Florida residents, except in the nonfiction and visual arts categories, where the subject matter must focus on Florida.

The awards program is coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries and co-sponsored by the Florida Center for the Book, the State Library and Archives of Florida, the Florida Historical Society, the Florida Humanities Council, the Florida Literary Arts Coalition, the Florida Library Association, "Just Read, Florida!," the Florida Association for Media in Education, The Center for Literature and Theatre @ Miami Dade College, Friends of the Florida State University Libraries, the Florida Writers Association, and the Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America.

The call for submissions of eligible books is announced in mid-June and concludes in early January. By early March, medalists will be announced in each of the 11 categories. Awards will be presented to all award winners at a banquet in Tallahassee in April.

Florida Book Award winners are promoted in a variety of ways including participation on conference and book festival panels. Winning books and their authors are featured in the Summer issue of FORUM, the statewide magazine of the Florida Humanities Council. Visit the FORUM website to learn more about the authors and to buy the award-winning books.  Interviews with The Florida Book Award winners can be seen on "The Florida Channel" and are linked and archived on this website.

Florida Book Award winning books are on permanent display in the library at the Governor's Mansion in Tallahassee, and in an exhibit case on the main floor of Florida State University's Strozier Library.

Jenni McKnight
Florida Book Awards Executive Director