Florida Book Awards

Social Media Buttons FaceBook page YouTube


You are invited to join us as we honor and celebrate with the 2014 Florida Book Award Winners! 
Complete and send your RSVP via online form or by email to floridabookawards@gmail.com.

Florida Book Awards
Florida State University Libraries
116 Honors Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306




With its ninth annual competition now complete, the Florida Book Awards has announced winners for books published in 2014 in the nine categories of competition.

Coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries, the Florida Book Awards is the nation's most comprehensive state book awards program. It was established in 2006 to celebrate the best Florida literature. Authors must be full-time Florida residents, except in the nonfiction and visual arts categories, where the subject matter must focus on Florida.

The more than 200 submissions for the 2014 awards were read by juries of three members, each nominated from across the state by co-sponsoring organizations. Jurors are authorized to select up to three medalists (including one gold winner, one silver runner-up and one bronze medalist) in each of the nine categories; jurors are also authorized to make no selections in a given year.

A new award has been introduced this year, the "Gwen P. Reichert Gold Medal for Children's Literature", which provides a cash prize for the Gold Winner of the Florida Book Awards in the Children's Literature category. This award is in memory of Gwen P. Reichert and serves as a lasting tribute to honor her accomplishments as a rare book collector, nurturer of authors and their audience, and her commitment to children's education. Gwen worked as a school principal and was an enthusiastic children's book collector. She became friends and pen pals with celebrated children's book authors including Tasha Tudor and Maurice Sendak. Gwen also founded and served as president of the Randolph Caldecott Society in St. Augustine, Florida.

Click here for the Florida Book Awards 2014 Winners by Category

All award recipients will be honored at the Abitz Family Dinner, the annual Florida Book Awards banquet, on April 9th at Mission San Luis in Tallahassee.  The nine gold medalists will be recognized March 11th at the Florida Heritage Awards Ceremony sponsored by the Florida Department of State’s Division of Cultural Affairs.  Winners will also be hosted by First Lady Ann Scott at a luncheon at the mansion and invited to participate on a Florida Book Awards panel at the inaugural Word of the South literary and music festival in Tallahassee in April.


Winners by Location
(Florida only)

David B. Axelrod - DAYTONA
Viviana Díaz Balsera - MIAMI
Bill Belleville - SANFORD
Kerry O'Malley Cerra - CORAL SPRINGS
Crissa-Jean Chappell - MIAMI
Erica Dawson - TAMPA
Ira Mark Egdall - HOLLYWOOD
Thomas Graham - ST. AUGUSTINE
Barbara Hamby - TALLAHASSEE
Jean Harrington - NAPLES
Sue Monk Kidd – MARCO ISLAND
Madeleine Kuderick – PALM HARBOR
Ward Larsen - SARASOTA
Mike Maihack - LUTZ
Rachel A. May - TAMPA
G. Neri - TAMPA
José M. Fernández Pequeño - MIAMI
David James Poissant - OVIEDO
Mark Powell - DELAND
Robin Poynor - GAINESVILLE
Lenny Schneir - DAYTONA
Ira Sukrungruang – BRANDON
Carol Thomas - PALM COAST
Randy Wayne White - SANIBEL

FBA Location Map





The Florida Book Awards, coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries and co-sponsored by: